A Group Of Attorneys General Working To Close Ghost Gun Loophole

At least 20 Attorney Generals from across the country have joined forces to support closing the ghost gun loophole.

Attorneys General from Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and Washington, DC, released an amicus brief today showing support for closing the ghost gun loophole federally through the ATF’s Final Rule. AGs from 17 other states joined the three. Ghost guns are classified as unserialized guns. They are often homemade or constructed from 80% gun kits that can be purchased without a background check, allowing violent criminals and those legally barred from possessing firearms to purchase them. According to AG Shapiro, Pennsylvania has seen an exponential increase in the number of ghost guns recovered by law enforcement in recent years.

“I’ve long been sounding the alarm on ghost guns and how they’re becoming the weapon of choice for criminals,” said AG Shapiro. “For years convicted felons, violent drug dealers, have all been able to buy these guns at gun shows without a background check. With these new federal regulations, we are making it harder for gun kits to end up in the hands of criminals and easier for law enforcement to track crime guns in their investigations. All this helps make Pennsylvania communities safer.”

The Final Rule regulates ghost guns by clarifying critical definitions in the Gun Control Act by classifying weapon parts, kits, and partially complete frames or receivers are firearms under the Act. The Final Rule will require background checks for anyone purchasing these gun kits. It will also require frames to be serialized so that law enforcement officers can trace self-made guns used in crimes and limit gun traffickers’ ability to distribute them in Pennsylvania.

A copy of the amicus brief is available online. The brief was led by AG Shapiro and the Attorneys General of New Jersey and Washington, DC. The brief was joined by the Attorneys General of California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, New York, North Carolina, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington, and Wisconsin.